The Great Damaso Basco

Posted: May 13, 2010 in Poems

Here’s to a long life

Six children and a strong wife.

20 grandchildren

18 Great grandchildren… I think it is, if I didn’t mess up

Could of seen your great-great grandchildren if Jo jo would just hurry up.

But that’s only half the story

Not even half the glory

Of my grandfather, Damaso Basco

Patriarch of the Basco Family

Glorious lifetime that spans nearly a century

You made being a Basco feel like being a Kennedy

One of the most important parts of my identity

And I wear it with pride as were left to carry on your legacy…

I often wonder how you survived World War II

I can’t imagine the things that you went through

But the greatness in me, is the greatness in you

And I recognize & see the distance between

Pittsburg, CA and Pangasinan, Philippines

Is the same distance between

Pittsburg, CA and the face of a Basco on the movie screen

See, the greatness in me, is the greatness in you

I guess my grandchildren

Are going to have to find a cure for cancer or walk on the moon

And best believe they will all know

That it started with their great-grandfather Damaso…

& even now you live on

In Dulce’s wisdom

Dayo’s patience

Pinky’s beauty

Danny’s mischief

Duke’s athleticism

David’s golf swing…

& Barbara- that’s another story of its own

The true measure of this man is the treasured gift of his family and home.

And Grandpa,  I honor you in this poem

But while your up there, have a drink with Grandpa Joe and play a round of golf with Uncle Dom

So now it’s time to say goodbye

Don’t mistake my joy for sadness if you happen to see me cry

As we celebrate your amazing life

Me, I apologize

For all you grandsons that did not become “The General”

like you wanted & this is something I’m not used to

But Grandpa, I salute you

& thank you

Rest in peace

The Great Damaso Basco

Comments
  1. rocky Perry says:

    Good stuff dude. keep up the writing.

  2. Tomeka says:

    this poem is inspirational and awesome……..

  3. Deirdre says:

    Very nice, Dante.

  4. Louis Perez says:

    Great poem man. You are talented. Period.

  5. That was very beautiful. I’m sorry for your loss though.

  6. dantebasco says:

    Reblogged this on My take on life… and commented:

    I wanted to repost this today because my grandfather would have been 100 years old today, 12/12/12. He past away two years ago and I miss him very much. He was the patriarch of our family and was loved by us all. It’s amazing that he came to America in hopes of a better life and just two generations later, I’m making movies in Hollywood. He truly made my life possible. So today, I honor you grandpa, happy 100th birthday. I love you. Miramaming salamat, po.

  7. davidcfraga says:

    any plans to make a any tv appearances?
    -2 broke girls
    -hawaii 5 O
    -arrow
    -elementary
    -vegas
    -animal practice

  8. photo ideas says:

    Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The text in your article seem to be running off the screen in Safari.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post
    to let you know. The style and design look great though!

    Hope you get the problem resolved soon. Kudos

Leave a Reply

