New Year…

Posted: January 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

First day of the new year… 2011.

It’s January first and like most people I look forward to what’s ahead this year and I also look at all that has been done in the past 365 days. But being an actor, I always kind of marvel at the idea that I made it through another year. It’s kind of crazy really, the life we live in this town, most of us. A life in that the next job is not promised and your last job, may very well be your last job… But somehow we stay in it and we continue to work and twenty five years later, in this business, you realize that you have made a life.

So… I’m thankful for the films and television episodes I’ve done. I’m proud of the play that I wrote and film I produced. I had a great time performing my poetry around California, I look forward to making my way to the east coast this year. I’ve done some great animation projects this year, Zevo 3 and a new show, that is a continuation of an old show I used to do, that I’m not really supposed to talk about yet… But i’m proud of that too.

And… this year, I look forward to a great year. I was told that 2011 is the year of the actor and of the poet, and the fact that I am both, coupled with it being the year of the Rabbit, which I am also, should add up to a pretty monumental year in my life… Things ahead… more films… more poems… more writing… marriage… maybe a mortgage.

Big things… Trying to make my life bigger.

In my business there are so many things you don’t have control of and in your many plans, you still have to be open for things happen. So I’m open. But there are a few things that I do plan to do this year, including reading more, (hopefully a book a month), learn to play guitar better. I alos want to learn my native language, Tagalog. I have Rosetta Stone… now I just have to use it more. And my projects in development, if I can get one or two of them made and the rest of them still moving forward, I will be happy.

So happy new year to everyone, hope’s it’s the best year of your life thus far… to all the actors, poets and “rabbits” out there, it’s our year… let’s make it count.

Comments
  1. Tracy says:

    The show you can’t talk about, the one everyone wants to know about of course. You need to at least drop hints… I know, like I can decide, right? I wish you the very best 2011. I wish you good health, a happy marriage and maybe a cute little baby Basco on the way, if you’re wanting one that is. 🙂 I’m not a rabbit or an actor, but definitely a poet and a writer. 2011 is going to be my year, too.

    Have a good one, Dante, may life be filled with one pleasant surprise after another for you.

  2. Nice, I’m a rabbit as well, (I randomly learned a couple of days ago). Glad to know it’s our year!

  3. Tracy says:

    I’m a rat, ATLAO, but it’s still going to be my year. 😉 It’s off to a good start.

  4. Bluetarako says:

    I think it’ll be my year too, if I can stop procrastinating so much. 😀 I wish you a Happy New Year and I sincerely hope it’s a good one for you. ❤

    ~Jenn

  5. Tracy says:

    I know this is off topic, but I wanted to let you know how much it meant to Nicky for you to say “Hi” to him. He has autism and is more accustomed to ridicule or being ignore. You make him really happy because he loves “Prince Zuko” and I interested him to Hook, and of course his blatant honesty popped out with… HE WAS BORN BEFORE MTV,TOO! LOL Anyway, thatnks for saying hello. It does a very big kindness to kids.

  6. Maylan says:

    Actor and poet, here! I’m happy to hear you say it is our year, because so far, it has been great. And many opportunities have come my way. Perhaps one day, I will be able to go to one of your poetry reads.

    Oh, and I’m right there with you on the Tagalog. Although I grew up with it, I still haven’t been able to hold a conversation with the language. So good luck in that area as well. I look forward to great things from you in the future. 🙂

  7. Athena says:

    Wow. It’s nice to see someone so positive about the new year thes days. I hope that this year is good to you, and that what you work for pays off, both in terms of success and progress. =)

Leave a Reply

