Meeting of the Minds…

Posted: February 24, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

What a night! I just got home from a crazy dope meeting. AJ Rafael came to meet me at Laurel Tavern (great food by the way), to discuss and help me with, what I guess I can say is my online presence. For those of you that read my blog, you know that I don’t blog that much, or at least with any consistency and I haven’t even logged onto my youtube page in forever… not even sure if I remember the password (I’m going to have to figure that out).

But I just had a 4 hour talk with AJ and my sister Arianna about this whole online thing… blogs, youtube, twitter. Later we were joined by Kevin Wu (who some may know as “kevjumba”) and they just blew my mind. The conversation started out as one thing, helping me establish my self more online which will help promote anything and everything I do as an artist and in business, to we started discussing the amazingness of what’s really going on online, how they created their online world, which consist of millions of “hits” and “followers”. They really educated me on the importance of what the internet has become. I mean, we all know how important it is, but we all don’t use it the same way. It’s really crazy, just in the short time between my generation and their generation I can really see the difference of how we view the internet. What do I really do on the internet… shop, look for movie times, google something. They’re communicating… and not just to their friends on facebook, no, their communicating to the masses… I mean, seriously, they have millions of people who watch them and follow what they do. It’s one thing to know that cats are getting millions of hits on youtube and its another thing to be sitting in front of two dudes that are doing it.

What can I say… they guys really taught me a lot tonight and just blew my mind. More then all that, they really inspired me. The conversation went on and we talked about the new generation of Asian-American artists and where we all stand and what we can do in the future. If these are the cats that are coming from this new generation, I can’t wait to see all they can achieve and I’m definitely excited to work with them.

I hope the world is ready, because its about to be our time…

Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by kevjumba, nurain syamimi and pat dotcom, Dante Basco. Dante Basco said: Meeting of the Minds… http://wp.me/pJRES-1v […]

  2. Maylan says:

    I follow you and Kevin on twitter and when I saw him saying that it was nice to meet you, I had to do a double take. I mean, I’ve been watching your movies since I was a kid, but every other week, I get to see Kevin’s new videos.

    There are a few people on youtube I follow, and they update regularly. Even though these people have no idea who I am, I feel like I know them; like they’re someone familiar (Sort of like when you read a story, you grow with the characters). So if you’re going to make your internet presence known, I’m really looking forward to it. I mean, just a short time ago, all the Asian American youtubers I followed joined together, which was really exciting. I’m excited to see what you can do. As a fellow Fil-Am, I wish you the best, Dante.

  3. Athena says:

    It would definitely be awesome to see an even stronger movement of Asian American actors on the web. Your friends are definitely steering you in the right direction–this is the place to create the new mass underground movements that eventually change the tide of old ways. It’s becoming more and more common for someone to be referred to as a “hit on YouTube with videos of 3 million or more views” and have that come with a lot of weight. I really hope that you become a part of it and see even greater success! Maybe this is how you’ll make this Your Year.

  4. Bluetarako says:

    You should definitely log into your Facebook more often, at the very least. So many people have amassed to this particular social network that it would be easy getting a message to any or all of your followers. Twitter works as well, but I don’t know much about that one. I hear you have to update so often or you time out? *shrug*

    But I agree that you should be online more, getting yourself out there and among your net-savvy fans and friends. It’s the best way to meet new people and accumulate a different kind of fame, like I did when I recruited you for the Avatar project. 😀

    Keep blogging and let us know how it goes.

  5. Tracy says:

    Well you know my son and I follow you on twitter. I say a lot of good about you because you are a darn good person. I do hope you read the comments because I want you to know how special you are. When he gets bullied now, he zones them out, remembers how much he is love at home, those who have sent him messages on twitter, especially you. You’ve inspired him. For so long he wanted to be a pathologist, I believe in helping with is dreams, but he’s not book smart, but he has oodles of talent. He’s thinking of animating or doing voice acting, something like that, and I think he’d have better luck with that. He’s all personality. But I am very glad you do Twitter because you’ve made a positive difference in Nicky’s life, and that is a big deal. With his autism, it’s tough for him to reach out to people and vice versa, but you’ve made an impact on his life, I hope you realize that. Not many people can reach Nicky, but you do and for that, you are a very special person. Even today, he came home in tears from being bullied and I passed on your message and it helped a little. Please keep being the person you are, Dante, you have a heart of gold, and if anyone says different, I’ll be more than happy to tell them off. 😀
    Tracy aka Tracy4Autism

  6. John says:

    I’ve just recently started checking out your poetry man and you have a genius mind. I definitely second what AJ and Kevin have told you about the online world. You have such a huge blessing on your heart and mind with your poetry it needs to be broadcasted more and more. I hope to see more stuff on your youtube man. I subscribed to your youtube channel earlier tonight in anticipation for when you will put up more. Keep doing what you’re doing.

Leave a Reply

