6 Pack Abs

Posted: January 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

These days you watch TV and every other guy is ripped to shreds, totally fit and there is some ridiculous contrived moment set up for him to take off shirt and show off his six pack abs…. Now, I’m an actor and have been one for most my life, I totally understand that in our profession you have to keep in shape and be camera ready, but over the last few years, its been getting ridiculous! I was up for a film and the casting folks called up my manager and asked how many weeks am I away from a six pack! So crazy, not the quality of my acting, no, how fast can he get a six pack!

I know, I know, women have been subject to this for years, especially in my industry, and yes, it’s been horrible for them. But we’re men and we weren’t subject to that type of behavior. Hahaha… I mean, seriously… James Dean never had a six pack, John Wayne, Steve McQueen, non of those guys had abdominal muscles bulging from their stomachs, they were just great actors, some of the greatest & coolest actors of their time.. Hell, Elvis never had abs and it doesn’t get cooler then Elvis! Now, I have friends that get ripped out before a gig and you hear all these other stories about all the actors getting in shape to play a role or getting ready for the scene when they have to take their shirts off and it spans from severe diets and intense work outs to straight steroid use! Can you believe it?!?! I mean, steroids? 6 pack abs? How does that enhance the portraying of a alcoholic, single father, or whatever? It’s so unreal, that look… Even for the guys doing it, they push themselves to look like that for that role, sometime for just that day of filming,, they can’t even keep it up…

Its an almost unattainable goal, at least in some healthy way… Whether taking drugs like steroids or depriving the body of food and submitting yourself to some kind of mental torture, passing the line of staying in shape and being fit to place of temporary insanity! All to get that look… Sometimes I see guys at the gym staring at themselves in the mirror, almost infatuated with their own image and I wonder what happen to us… us men, I mean, I find myself acting like that too. Six pack abs, does it make you any better of an actor? Does it make you any better of person? It might even make you a worse person at times… Maybe I’m just bitchin cause I don’t want to go to the gym today… In any case, let’s hit the gym.

Comments
  1. Darineka Smith says:

    People probably don’t see the “six pack” oppression that is placed upon male actors, but you make a great point! Almost every actor has to have abs.

  2. I’ve been a fan for a long time, but actually my favourite character of yours is Zuko (closely followed by Rufio!) and Zuko is just your voice! You brought so much to that role without needing abs at all! 🙂

  3. Jenna says:

    That’s how norms get eating disorders, trying to look like the people they see in the movies or, even worse, in posters and billboards. We should be proud of who we are HOW we are, and it shouldn’t affect how people judge you or treat you.

  4. DragonTeens says:

    I dont know if this is the real Dante Basco im speaking but ill say it anyway I have no idea you have to have abs just to be an actor and is it kind of wrong for people to use steroids just to get abs or whatever people do to have theme I would perfered exercise just for abs like normel people would do. Well that pretty much all I have to say but just incase if you’re familiar with the website calld deviant art fill free to visit me and my cousin are working on a project calld Dragon Teens if your interested just go to DragonTeens at deviant art or just put DragonTeens.

  5. sandra says:

    I guess it’s the pressure in Hollywood these days that in order for people to pay 12 dollars for a movie ticket, the film should involve a voluptuous Victoria’s Secret model as the leading lady or a serious 8-pack as the lead man. It’s so sad that many potential talents in the acting field have to cave into this pressure, but I hope you don’t let yourself down. Keep working hard and keep that thick skin about your talent. =)

  6. David says:

    I never thought of it like that. Of course, I’m not an actor but, even outside of acting I think it’s kind of the same thing. It kinda transfers from hollywood to pollute the rest of the world… I’ve had friends hint at me that I’m obviously not in perfect shape, but I’m not in terrible shape either. I exercise every day but I see no need to make myself miserable just to conform to the madness that society finds acceptable today. I love Coke and I see no need to give it up! And you are such a great actor and do everything to make the film entertaining without abs (especially in Avatar)! You are absolutely right! Thanks for speaking your mind.

  7. If you want a six pack, get some soda pop. It’s like the more obsessed people are with having chiseled perfect bodies, the more eating disorders there are.

    Dante, when I think of you, I don’t think of a body(Not to say you don’t look good). But I think of your talent. I think of the fact that despite not really knowing my son NIcky, you left him that encouraging video. Or the kind messages you’ve left him on twitter. I see you as a kind human being, I see you as a very talented actor. You’re a lot more down to earth than many others in your field, and that’s what’s important. A six pack means nothing when you’ve left a big impact on a kid with autism who thinks you are the most awesome actor there is. 🙂

    If you want to work out, do it for fun, but if it’s for someone else I’d say *&%$ them. They can go jump in the lake, you’re fine the way you are. 🙂

  8. Jennifer says:

    Hahaha I love the rant just because you don’t want to go to the gym. I totally get it. I’m stuck in the same rut and trying to figure out other things to do besides going to the gym. It’s your smile and voice that I’m mostly attracted to when I see or hear you acting. I see first hand what Hollywood demands, my husbands cousin Irene Keng (Harry’s Law) is so skinny I just want to feed her when i see her.
    Jennifer

  9. Deborah says:

    That was awsome. Do you have a girl friend?

Leave a Reply

