Grammy Weekend 2012: Meeting Skrillex…

Posted: February 12, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So it’s Grammy weekend in LA, as Hollywood is usually a town run by the film and television industry, it’s a little different this weekend  because the city and all the parties are based around the music industry. It’s actually a really fun weekend as you can imagine. While running into an old friend of mine (and big time music producer these days with his brother Iz[Shout out, IZ]) Bobby Ross Avila at a party Friday night, he asked me what’s the difference between music parties and movie parties. I said simply, there are more rockstars at music parties… And it’s true, music parties are more fun.

One of the great things that happen while on my way out of the Paramount party is I ran into Skrillex. For those of you who don’t know who he is, (I recently was reintroduced to him myself, actually I knew him as a kid… and by another name, hahaha) he happens to be one of the biggest DJ’s in the world right now and up for several Grammy’s this year. Also recently he came out with a hit song called, “Bangarang”. (I included it in the post for everyone to enjoy) If you listen the song, you might hear a familier voice. When we bumped into each other, I just let him know, I love the song and I I think he’s amazing… When he realized who I was, he was excited to meet me too, he said he was geeking out over meeting me, (which was very flattering I admit) and even went as far as to thank me for being the inspiration for the song.

Skrillex is a cool guy and meeting him was a pleasure. He actually ended up having his management contact me and invite me out to a show he was spinning at downtown.

I have to thank my girl, Sammy for taking the pictures and actually was the one that made sure I met him. (It’s always great to have a powerful girl by your side, it’s nice for someone to have your back like that… thanks, babe)

It’s crazy to think that somehow I still continue to be a part of pop culture and in ways you never plan for. Having a hit song on the radio, meeting amazing artist from the new generation that are inspired by the the things you’ve done in the past. This life and this business is crazy. I’m just thankful to be apart of it all. As I continue to work and create the new films and projects ahead, it’s nice to know that people appreciate and are inspired by the work I’ve done in the past.

Much love and thanks to you Skrillex… Long live Rufio and the Lost Boys… BANGARANG!

Comments
  1. DragonTeens says:

    Look like you were having a blast over there and whatever project or movis you are working on I hope one of theme involved with American Dragon Jake long season 3. Been a long time since I’ve seen that show until thay stop continuing which is a let down I was beginning to wonder what happend after the last episod leaving people with hundreds of questions of what will happen after hong kong long but hopfaly will have the anser soon if they desided to bring the show back soon but only time will tell.

  2. This is awesome. I almost went to the show! I also brag to all my friends that the inspiration of bangarang came from the one and only HOOK (my favorite movie of all time) and you and the lost boys 🙂 Bangarang Rufio!

  3. Sammy says:

    Don’t forget babe, he also reminded you that you guys go way back! And you do! So it was more like running into an old friend! He said and I quote “I don’t geek out over anyone, but you…man you were the inspiration to my song”! MAD LOVE!

  4. lol at the girl photobombing in the background of your photo.
    also, bangarang! still one of my favorite films from my childhood 🙂
    excited to see your part in the upcoming korra!

Leave a Reply

