God In Me… by Dante Basco

Posted: November 14, 2012 in Poems

So I got to shoot this poem in a new way. I got to hook up with some upcoming directors and production crew, National Film SocietyPatrick and Stephen. I loved working with these guys, if you watch their videos, you can see their energy is crazy! This is the beginning of where I want to go with poetry videos, not just with me but for my whole crew. I want to connect with young film makers and pair them up with poets from our DPL (Da Poetry Lounge) crew and shoot “music video” like shorts for our poems and give people something different from the poetry scene. My thing is this, I love poetry and spoken word and if you see it in the theatre it’s very powerful. But it is a theatrical experience, sometimes it doesn’t translate well on to film and video. Some poets and some poems may work… but if we work with film makers and make more narrative pieces with the way shoot it, as well as doing some cool camera shots that can enhance the poem and the poet, it can be interesting… something different at least. Hope you enjoy. Thanks Patrick and Stephen.

Leave a Reply

