Hollywood Stories – “Avatar: The Last Airbender”

Posted: December 6, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Here is a continuation of my “Hollywood Stories,” series for my YouTube channel. It’s actually a lot of fun to look back and think about things I’ve done and projects I’ve been apart of. It’s the end of the year and I often get introspective at this time of year, all the things that happened this year and all the plans for next year.

There are so many fans of ATLA and looking back, I honestly didn’t know that this project was going to become the phenomenon it became. I mean, Nickelodeon was doing it, up to that point, “Sponge Bob Square Pants,” was what they were known for in animation, at least to me and this seemed so left field. On top of that, I’m fairly new to the animation world and auditioning and booking this, I just counted myself lucky to book another job.

But then something happened… (it all changed when the Fire Nation attacked) Somewhere in the middle of the second season as I was reading through the script and really seeing where Prince Zuko was going as a character, all the possibilities of what ultimately happened with him, it quickly became evident to me I could be in the middle of playing one of the greatest characters of my career… and it’s a cartoon character.

To see the impact this show has had on the world and impact this character has had on people… including myself. Just goes to show you, you never know what’s going to happen. We plan a lot things in our careers and in our lives, sometimes they happen, sometimes they don’t… sometimes something comes out of left field impacts you and the world, in ways you could never imagined.

Comments
  1. “It’s a cartoon character.” I tell myself that all the time and I STILL can’t get over the feels XDXDXD

  2. zellie says:

    I just watched Star Wars for the first time EVER like two weeks ago (it only took 27 years). My mind was blown when I found out the Storm Troopers talk lol. I couldn’t imagine being in a room with Luke Skywalker, like really, wow. That must have been amazing.

    Are you going to do one of these for The Debut? 😀 I still watch that movie to this day! I think for the Filipino American’s who were in high school the time I was in high school when it came out, it was important to us and a lot of us took our parents to see it. But you know, they didn’t get it lol. It’s all good, we still enjoyed watching it over and over and we usually did at each other’s parties!

Leave a Reply

