Getting My Little Business Off the Ground…

Posted: January 5, 2013 in Kinetic Films
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

So here’s my first blog for the new year… I have to admit, 2012 was a heavy year… Both personally and in concern with business. Last year I launched my production company, Kinetic Films, and our debut movie, “Hang Loose.”  And let me tell you, the stress of producing has been crazy! Getting the team together that has the same vision is hard enough, let alone putting together a talent pool that can pull off not one film, but three so far! And another one the the way.

Up to now, we’ve been so immersed in writing, producing, acting and everything else it takes to put a movie together and I think we’ve been doing a great job, these first few are pretty good movies. The pressure now comes in how to market and distribute. This is the place of my industry I’m most not qualified for. Let’s face it, I grew up as the talent… (that’s the actors, writers and whatnot’s) I’m used to preparing to shoot a movie and put my heart and soul into a project to get it on film and when we wrap shooting, I give out presents to the cast and crew… & I’ll see you at the premiere! Now as I’m growing up and having different roles in production, I’m seeing it all from a new perspective.

First off, the production is bigger than any one person, doesn’t matter if you’re the lead actor or director… once the boat takes off, no one can stop it, we have to get this movie made. And sadly, I’ve seen why actors get a bad name, I mean, I am an actor and I hate to see that happen, but I guess it goes with the territory. It truly takes a small village of people to make a movie, even at the micro-budget film making we embarked on.

So here we are, we have a great little movie and we want as many people to watch it as possible. Not only that, we have three more movies coming to you throughout the rest of the year! Although we finished shooting, looks like the work has just begun.

I’ll be travelling throughout the country over the next few months to talk about Kinetic Films and “Hang Loose,” you can follow me on twitter (@dantebasco) to see if I’ll be in your neck of the woods. Also, you can hit up HangLoosePR@gmail.com, to have us come to your town or school to help spread the word about the movie and Asian American film making.

Go watch the movie at hangloosemovie.com … now screening 24/7!

Leave a Reply

