Comic Con 2013

Posted: July 21, 2013 in Blog
Tags: , , ,

So I’m fresh back from my Comic Con experience this year and I just wanted to share some photos and thoughts for everyone that couldn’t make it this year. First and foremost, it was amazing, like every year, it’s just crazy! The amount of things going on and all the things to see, there is no possible way to see everything.

I came out early this year, Wednesday is preview night and the passes I get let us in to preview night. My friend Shihan, my partner in “Da Poetry Lounge,” is also a big toy collector and he got me hyped up to go getting exclusive toys only available at Comic Con. Now I don’t know anything about the whole “toy” game, but one thing about me is, I love learning new things and especially when people are knowledgable and passion about something, I’m totally fascinated by it. So, Shihan is telling me all about these exclusive toys and just like that… We’re off early to San Diego hit up Comic Con. Now, I do cons all over the country and different parts of the world actually and usually I’m there to do some panels, signings and “meet & greets” but this was totally different. This is the first time I got to really experience a con like this. I’m there early in the lines, just hanging out with every one, just geekin out… Finding out who likes what and why. I’d be hanging out for awhile and then the person next to me would be like, you look so familiar, they’d finally figure out who I wam and then we’d all have a mini photo shoot with others in line around me… Met some really cool people. You know, some people think that nerds are weird for geekin out over fandom stuff, but everyone geeks out over something. I mean, every sunday when all us guys are filled up in some sport bar screaming and cheering, what do you think we’re doing? Just geekin out over some NFL…

I love to just roll around the con and check out the sights, the displays are just amazing, really…

I did get to do an Avatar panel this year. (Shout out to Avatar Mom, thanks for throwing another great panel… like always, I wish we had more time) It was great to hang with Jack and Mae… Sifu Kisu was in the house as well as Dee Bradley. Also, after the panel we took a picture with all the great cosplayers.

Another great thing about Comic Con is being able to bump into friends and catching up… Actors and agents and directors and producers. Just fun seeing people outside of LA, grabbing a bite or drink and promising to make plans to hang more in the city…

I was lucky to connect with my boy, Mike Capes, who host stuff for “The Walking Dead,” online and I got to hang with that whole crew. I got talked into joining Mike on a run through the Zombie Apocalypse Escape, I was not ready for all that. I thought it was just going to be some haunted house of some sort, next thing I know, I have a camera strapped to my head, full on running through Pet Co. stadium chased by zombies, crawling over and under all kinds of traps and broken down cars and obstacles… Yo, it was crazy! I was in fully drenched in sweat breathing hard. It was pretty out of control…

I also got to do a quick hang out with some fans at a spot called Nerd HQ. A friend of mine, Steph, who use to intern for me, working this event. I wanted to see her and thought it was a cool place to meet. It was great to take a break from the madness and head to this off shoot of Comic Con that’s totally free to go to and was created by Zachary Levi (the actor who played “Chuck” on the show Chuck) Anyway, I was hanging with a handful of peeps (shout out to Mave for finding me first) We literally hung out, I bought a round of drinks and just got to know some new folks. I guess the people throwing the event found out I was there because a cute girl named Shekinah found me, she later told me, she throws the event and is Zach’s sister and that they were Rufio fans since they were young. I was whisked away to meet Zach. He was really cool and I told him how impressed I was to see what they created… Just another cool experience this year at the con.

Now another great part of Comic Con is the parties at night… I was lucky to be invited to a few. My highlight was watching Weezer perform at the Walking Dead party. The party was fun, very much in the Hollywood fashion… plenty of food, open bar, celebrities walking around… everything is free… Then great entertainment… Weezer! When they played my favorites, “Beverly Hills” and “Island In the Sun” I was elated.

So now as I’m writing this… I’m still exhausted from the last few days but tickled by all the fun we had… See you next year, Comic Con…

20130721-135358.jpg

20130721-135419.jpg

20130721-135437.jpg

20130721-135444.jpg

20130721-135450.jpg

20130721-135504.jpg

20130721-135511.jpg

20130721-135523.jpg

20130721-135539.jpg

20130721-135544.jpg

20130721-135557.jpg

20130721-135609.jpg

20130721-135620.jpg

20130721-135626.jpg

20130721-135634.jpg

20130721-190510.jpg

20130721-190632.jpg

Leave a Reply

