This Year’s Mother’s Day…

Posted: May 10, 2015 in Blog
Tags: ,

  
On this Mother’s Day my heart is heavy… Two days ago I get a message from my mom, a group text to my entire family relaying messages from my Auntie Pinky that Grandma Basco’s health, which already was not doing well, with her on dialysis and recently coming out of a blood transfusion, is doing much worse, dire even. She’s refused to go back to dialysis, hasn’t eaten in two days and has called for the priest. Also, she wants everyone to come home. When the matriarch of our Basco clan summons us home, especially upon her death bed to say goodbye, we all piled into cars, jumped on planes and rushed home to see her.

Upon reaching Auntie Pinky’s house in our hometown of Pittsburg, CA, I find my beloved grandmother, now 92, once the feisty fireball of woman, with my even keeled grandfather that stood at the head of our family. They immigrated to America from the Philippines like most families here, in hopes of a better life and some sixty years later, here we are, here we all are, the Basco family, now with nearly same amount of people as her age. Her children and children’s children, she’s even lived to see her great great grandchildren. All her family and extended family surrounding her, laughing, singing songs, dancing, drinking and eating… and crying a little. But not crying because we’re sad, she has lived an amazing life and all of us come from her and the family tree she’s built has flourished here in America, I guess we cry little because we’re going to miss her.

I love you, Grandma… Growing up, everyone around town knew I was a Basco because they said I looked just like you, I always felt we we had a special connection because of that. I’m going to miss you forever. Happy Mother’s Day.

Comments
  1. Your grandmother sounds like an incredible person… But you know what they say – dying would be an awfully big adventure, and I’m certain that your Grandma is going to be adventuring into the sunset forever. All the best to you and your family this Mother’s Day ❤

  2. Kenz says:

    Prayers to you and your family. And much love.

  3. Sara K. says:

    Simply beautiful! Makes me miss my grandmother even more >: She’s not passed away, no, but she lives over in Sicily, while we’re in Pennsylvania. Harder on my mom than me, but I still miss her like crazy

    Thank you for sharing this with us ❤

  4. Angel Bethany says:

    Very sad, yet I love the fact that you danced and sang. I wish that was our custom. It’s a good one.

    God bless your family always loved ones here and who have passed on.

Leave a Reply

