Peace Out 2016!

Posted: December 31, 2016 in Uncategorized


It’s a gloomy in LA on this last day of the year, the overcast seems somewhat fitting as I think back at 2016. So many memes online about how atrocious this last year has been, all the legendary figures that we lost, most notably in my mind, Prince and David Bowie… and of course most recently Carrie Fisher, Debbie Reynolds and George Michael. And then there’s the madness of the last election… sometimes I like to look at the happenings of this world a thermometer of where we’re at. 
Where are we at? 

I don’t know…  Protests, Black Lives Matter, Standing Rock, Trump, Alt Right, Pokémon Go, Emails hacked, Allepo, Kanye, Cubs and Cavaliers… Kind of a crazy year.

Maybe an important year. I think of the turmoil that plagues us here, feeling of this divide in our United States. I try to remind myself that were a country at war, the longest war in our countries history, it’s odd, because most of us forget that, but I think the repercussions of all that is revealed in the people. Fear and anger is what I feel a lot of when I think about what’s going on… and it’s real and warranted on both sides. We’re in a time of transition, a “change” that started years ago and with a promise from Obama and will continue one way or another with the new  president. But it’s not just about them, it’s about us as a people and it’s not just the States, as I’ve been traveling around the world this last week, the feeling of which way do we go is looming over all of us. We’re all apart of this transition, change… and most of the time, change is painful… (cue the Bowie song “Cha-Cha-Cha-Changes”)

At the end of the day… or I guess, end of this year, I hope for the best, I will do my best to be a positive force in this transition. No resolutions, just continue to create and communicate. I have a lot of plans for 2017, I hope to get most of them done.

I hope you guys have a wonderful New Year’s celebration, where ever you are. Enough of my melancholy rambling, I’m raising a glass with all y’all tonight… 

Cheers! 

Talk to you next year!

Comments
  1. L castillo says:

    Happy New Year Dante! I dont have a witty poem or words of wisdom. I can however give you a sincere thank you. I appreciate your wonderful updates. I look forward to them. It makes me feel we are friends. Since I am close to your age i can relate to your references. Cheers Dante Basco!! I wish you a healthy and prosperous new year.

Leave a comment